"Initials" by "Florian Körner", licensed under "CC0 1.0". / Remix of the original. - Created with dicebear.comInitialsFlorian Körnerhttps://github.com/dicebear/dicebearFU

Duck, You Sucker! AKA, Fistful of Dynamite (1971, 1080p) - Another Zapata Western, but this time directed by a more experienced Sergio Leone.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WWQF7LckMK8

So I finally got around to watching The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly trilogy for the first time, and ultimately came away slightly underwhelmed. I did enjoy the cinematography, and it does ooze bad-assery, but the slow pacing was a little too much for me at times.

I decided to see what an older, more experienced Sergio Leone would do to improve on his earlier works, and hopped into Duck, you sucker!

Immediately, I'd say there's just more going on here. The characters a more fleshed out (instead of relying almost exclusively on long, menacing stare scenes), and the pace of the film is far more engaging (for me, anyway).

Overall, this one was just more my style, and I think Sergio improved quite a bit compared to his famous trilogy. If you haven't seen it, I'd recommend giving it a shot!

Be warned, though, it begins deceptively lighthearted, but covers some super heavy stuff.

4
1
Comments 1