fossdroid

My favorite FOSS applications: Podverse

Hello everyone! I can't count how many good open source/FOSS apps I learned about through the FOSSdroid subreddit over the years (super happy that we're on Lemmy now btw). There are quite a few that have brought huge QOL improvements to my degoogled android experience, so I want to show them a little love every so often. Here is an app that I use every day while at work or while traveling, sometimes hours each day...

Podverse

Fdroid: https://www.f-droid.org/packages/com.podverse.fdroid/
Github: https://github.com/podverse/podverse-fdroid

Highlights

  1. Can be set to auto-download specified podcasts while you're on WiFi so that you have them locally saved for when you are on cell data. This is great if you're like me and don't have a huge data allotment while also often forgetting to save episodes while I'm on WiFi.
  2. Has a value for value option that allows you to donate bitcoin to streams and podcasts that you like. I don't actually use this because I'm not in the bitcoin world, but it gets me thinking about other ways I could support my favorite creators. For someone who does use bitcoin I would imagine the V4V option could be very convenient.
  3. Manual settings and accounts import/export. This should be a feature of every app, but sadly it isn't. In my experience, it's a leap of faith to trust seedvault to transfer app data when changing phones or flashing a new ROM. It's awesome when an app includes a manual backup option, and podverse does.

It's a simple app, but it saves me from a proprietary podcast app like Spotify and I don't have to hope that the podcasts happen to be uploaded to youtube.

What is your favorite podcast app? I haven't tried a huge variety of them, just Antennapod then Podverse.

2
0
Comments 0